The Samaritan Woman

John 4:5-20
Eventually he came to Samaria village of Sychar, near the parcel of ground that Jacob gave his son Joseph. Jacobs well was there; and Jesus tired from the long walk, sat wearily beside the well around noontime. Soon a Samaritan woman came to draw water and Jesus said to her, Please give me a drink. He was alone at the time because his disciples had gone into the village to buy some food.
The woman was surprised, for Jews refuse to have anything to do with Samaritans. She said to Jesus, You are a Jew and I am a Samaritan woman. Why are you asking me for a drink?
Jesus replied “If you only knew the gift God has for you and who I am, you would ask me, and I would give you living water.
But sir you don’t have a rope or a bucket, she said, and this is a very deep well. Where would you get this living water? And besides are you better than this our ancestor Jacob who gave us this well? How can you offer better water the he and his sons and his cattle enjoyed?
Jesus replied, “People soon become thirsty again after drinking this water. But the water I give them takes away thirst altogether. It becomes a perpetual spring within them, giving them eternal life.
Please sir the woman said give me some of that water! Then I will never be thirsty again and I won’t have to come here to haul water.
Go and get your husband, Jesus told her. I don’t have a husband the woman replied.
Jesus said you are right! You don’t have a husband-for you have had five husbands ad you aren’t even married to the man you’re living with now.
Sir the woman said, you must be a prophet. So tell me why it is that you Jews say that Jerusalem is the only place to worship, while we Samaritans claim it is here at Mount Gerizim, where our ancestor worshiped?

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

